New Shows on Sale at Sheffield Theatres

Sheffield Theatres has announced a range of exciting new shows set to take to the stage throughout 2019 and into 2020, including spectacular musicals, intense dramas and family favourites.

In the Lyceum, plenty of shows to thrill audiences, including: Alan Ayckbourn’s Ten Times Table from Monday 21 – Saturday 26 October, Saint Petersburg Classic Ballet return with their production of The Nutcracker from Tuesday 7 – Saturday 11 JanuaryHelen George will star in the thrilling My Cousin Rachel from Monday 20 – Saturday 25 January, Mischief Theatre Company will cause trouble with Peter Pan Goes Wrong from Tuesday 28 January – Saturday 1 February, the iconic Priscilla, Queen of the Desert starring Strictly favourite Joe McFadden will be journeying to Sheffield from Monday 2 – Saturday 7 March, direct from the West End, the Olivier Award-winning A Monster Calls plays from Tuesday 10 – Saturday 14 March, the landmark musical Cabaret will run from Tuesday 17 – Saturday 21 MarchNorthern Ballet celebrate their 50th Anniversary with a new production of Geisha from Tuesday 24 – Saturday 28 March, the multi award-winning musical adventure Once is set to serenade from Tuesday 5 – Saturday 9 May, and, finally, Derren Brown brings his Showman tour from Tuesday 14 – Saturday 18 July.

Eclipse Theatre Company’s Black Men Walking returns to the Studio following its previous sell-out run (Monday 14 – Saturday 19 October). The Studio also plays host to Footprint Theatre’s Signals (Monday 28 October) and Barb Jungr: Bob, Brel and Me (Wednesday 27 November).

The Crucible is delighted to be welcoming Sheffield’s own John Shuttleworth as part of the John Shuttleworth’s Back! tour onThursday 6 February 2020. His first tour in three years, this versatile singer/organist is ready to regale audiences with an evening of his classic compositions, brand new songs and hilarious ‘back’-stories. Also in the Crucible is The Unthanks Sing Emily Brontëon Friday 1 November. Commissioned by the Brontë Society to mark Emily Brontë’s 200th Birthday, Yorkshire born Unthankspianist and composer Adrian McNally has turned a selection of her poems into song.

The final show of this year’s Christmas line-up will be The Elves and the Shoemakers in the Studio. Once upon a time, there were two shoemakers who were very old and very poor – so poor they couldn’t even afford to buy each other Christmas presents. One night, just as the snow begins to fall outside and the clock strikes midnight, two mischievous elves appear at the window. Featuring live music and puppetry, this festive treat for ages 3+ runs from Thursday 5 December – Saturday 4 January and completes the festive offering at Sheffield Theatres with previously announced Crucible Christmas musical Guys and Dolls (Saturday 7 December – Saturday 18 January) and fun-filled family Lyceum pantomime, Cinderella, in co-production with Evolution Pantomimes (Friday 6 December – Sunday 5 January).

Previously announced Sheffield Theatres Productions include: Life of Pi (Crucible, Friday 28 June – Saturday 20 July), Reasons to Stay Alive – a co-production with English Touring Theatre (Studio Theatre, Friday 13 – Saturday 28 September), The Last King of Scotland (Crucible Theatre, Friday 27 September – Saturday 19 October) and My Mother Said I Never Should –  a co-production with fingersmiths (Studio Theatre, Friday 8 – Saturday 23 November).

Tickets for all newly announced productions will go on sale to Centre Stage Members – who enjoy great discounts and priority booking – on Saturday 15 June. General booking will open on Saturday 29 June at 10am.

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here