New Shows to Go on Sale at Sheffield Theatres

0

Sheffield Theatres has announced a myriad of exciting shows set to take to the stage throughout 2018 and into 2019, including spectacular musicals, intense dramas and much-loved favourites.

The final show of this year’s Christmas line-up will be The Singing Mermaid in the Studio. One day, the singing mermaid is tempted away from all of her sea creature friends and her peaceful home at Silversands to join a travelling circus. The audience love to hear her sing, but instead of the swimming pool she was promised, she is kept in a small tank by the wicked circus master. Will she ever escape? Who will help her along the way? A perfect show for little ones, it runs from Thursday 6 – Sunday 30 December 2018.

The Lyceum will host a huge line up of shows, including: Still Alice from Wednesday 12 – Saturday 15 September 2018, there’ll be fun for all the family when The Tiger Who Came To Tea visits from Thursday 1 – Saturday 3 November, Moscow Ballet will return to present The Sleeping Beauty from Tuesday 8 – Saturday 12 January 2019, the iconic Ghost The Musical will enchant the Lyceum from Tuesday 15 – Saturday 19 January 2019, prepare for fun in the sun as Benidorm LIVE plays from Monday 21 – Saturday 26 January 2019, audiences will be spellbound by The Worst Witch from Tuesday 29 January – Saturday 2 February 2019. Later, the tragic tale of Blood Brothers will return from Tuesday 5 – Saturday 9 February 2019, the world’s favourite murder mystery Agatha Christie’s The Mousetrap  from Monday 11 – Saturday 16 February 2019, prepare to Time Warp again when the Rocky Horror Show comes from Monday 18 – Saturday 23 February 2019, dance the night away with Saturday Night Fever from Tuesday 26 February – Saturday 2 March 2019, Green Day’s American Idiot will come to Sheffield for the first time from Tuesday 26 – Saturday 30 March 2019, Gary Barlow and Tim Firth’ Calendar Girls features a host of familiar faces fromTuesday 2 – Saturday 13 April 2019, Sheffield will walk and talk with the animals with Doctor Doolittle The Musical from Tuesday 23 April – Saturday 4 May 2019 , the Sheffield tale of The Full Monty will thrill audiences once again from Tuesday 7 – Saturday 18 May 2019 and, finally, the West End smash-hit Kinky Boots will strut its stuff from Monday 10 – Saturday 22 June.

Across the season, the Studio is set to host an extensive range of touring productions, including: Give Me Your Love (Tuesday 9 October), One Life Stand (Wednesday 10 October), Where We Began (Thursday 11 October), Often Onstage (Wednesday 17 October), Declaration (Thursday 15 November), Windows of Displacement (Tuesday 20 November), We Can Time Travel (Wednesday 21 November), the fierce and fabulous Rent Party will be returning following a critically acclaimed run in the Studio last Christmas (Thursday 22 – Friday 23 November) and finally, Butterflies (Saturday 24 November).

The Crucible will host Ru Paul’s Drag Race favourite Jinkx Monsoon and lyrical genius Major Scales in The Ginger Snapped on Saturday 3 November, as they showcase music from their new album, Jinkx worries that her best years are behind her. In order to avoid a breakdown of diva proportions, Major must act as both pianist and therapist to the Manic Miss Monsoon. Music and mental health collide in this witty, biting look at the dark side of Drag fame. Additionally, Utopia Theatre and Sheffield Theatres present The Spirit of Africa Festival on Friday 26 & Saturday 27 October, a two day festival celebrating the culture and people of Africa filled with traditional and contemporary music, theatre, film, fashion, visual arts, dance and poetry.

These shows complete a line up of recently announced Sheffield Theatres Productions, including: One Flew Over the Cuckoo’s Nest (Crucible Theatre, Thursday 7 – Saturday 23 June), Love and Information (Studio Theatre, Thursday 28 June – Saturday 14 July), Songs from the Seven Hills (Crucible Theatre, Wednesday 18 – Saturday 21 July), Steel (Studio Theatre,Wednesday 12 September – Saturday 6 October), A Midsummer Night’s Dream (Crucible Theatre, Thursday 27 September – Saturday 20 October), Close Quarters – a co-production with Out of Joint (Studio Theatre, Wednesday 24 October – Saturday 10 November), this year’s Christmas Musical Kiss Me, Kate (Crucible Theatre, Thursday 6 December – Saturday 12 January), fun-filled family pantomime Peter Pan (Lyceum Theatre, Friday 7 December – Sunday 6 January), Rutherford and Son (Crucible Theatre, Thursday 7 – Saturday 23 February), hang (Studio Theatre, Wednesday 20 February – Saturday 9 March 2019) and Standing at the Sky’s Edge (Crucible Theatre, Thursday 14 March – Saturday 6 April).

Tickets for all newly announced productions will go on sale to Centre Stage Members – who enjoy exclusive discounts and priority booking – on Saturday 9 June. General booking will open on Saturday 23 June at 10.00am.

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here